top of page

Looking back...Hey Mom, no keys

In my first year in Leipzig 1990, I had no keys!

Ponder that.

Keys represent THINGS.

I wasn't homeless or starving either. I never had felt so free. How? The city and my new friends had provided me a free, electrified, watered squat flat in the newborn democratic re-united East Germany;

in it's short lived positive anarchic state right after the wall fell.

There were many empty broken buildings to sqwat. Right historic place at the right time....but bravery and openess were required, and my ability to play drums and paint pictures to eat and earn Deutsch marks...

It was not a perfect storm for me, but a perfect sunny day that still hasn't ended for me here. And there have been storms.


For good or bad I now have a pocket full of keys again, years later, but I am losing them one by one slowly.

Keys and things are heavy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page